Ironman 70.3 2021

The IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun is an event for the whole family.

IRONMAN 70.3 ZELL AM SEE-KAPRUN

29 AUGUST 2021

The triathlon event of the starts with a dip in the crystal-clear drinking water of Lake Zell IRONMAN 70.3  in the Salzburg region. Zell am See-Kaprun, a region made for 1,9 km swimming, 90 km cycling and 21,1 km running. You swim across the lake, in your racing bike saddle on one of the most beautiful bike routes in the IRONMAN world and with running shoes along the shores of Lake Zell.

THROUGH THE IRONMAN 70.3 WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP 2015 ...

... the region of Zell am See-Kaprun became world famous in the international triathlon scene - absolutely right. The alpine character of the landscape between Glacier, mountains and lake is perfect for top-class endurance sports. Not too cold and not too warm, the Zeller See provides the optimal water temperature for top performance of the participants in the IRONMAN swimming competition. The bike route leads over 90 extremely attractive kilometers through the middle of the surrounding mountains, before the 21,1 km running route throws wonderful views over the lake and the Hohe Tauern in front of the running feet of the iron men and women. How much the athletes can really enjoy from this view, considering the total distance to be completed, remains an open question ...

Mega event to join in & watch

2.500 athletes from one third of the world and an Austrian victory: The eighth IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun was again a spectacle.

ZELL AM SEE. Zell am See-Kaprun welcomed the 1th edition of the IRONMAN 2019 on September 8, 70.3 and even crowned it with an Austrian victory. The sporting highlight event of the year has now been set in the region for the next five years. Lake Zell was seething, the bike course presented the surrounding mountains in bright sunshine and there was a great atmosphere on the running route through the old town of Zell. Zell am See-Kaprun with its glacier, mountains and lake has been one of the most popular triathlon destinations in the world since the 70.3 IRONMAN 2015 World Championship and was the eighth venue for the top-class sporting event on September 1, 2019.

Steger surprised

The Austrian Thomas Steger achieved an excellent performance while running one of the biggest victories of his career. He completed the IRONMAN 70.3 in a time of 03: 55: 03. Daniela Bleymehl from Germany won the women's event. Salzburg's Andreas Giglmayer made his career in the top 70.3 10 on his last IRONMAN 9. The IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun is the sporting highlight of the year and even sold out the earliest in the history of the race. 2.500 athletes from 62 nations of the world went to the start and measured themselves about 1,9 km swimming, 90 km cycling and 21,1 km running.

"Unique atmosphere"

Tourism boss Renate Ecker was enthusiastic: "The IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun is a superlative triathlon weekend in our region. The rush of athletes reflects their enthusiasm for the event when 2.500 athletes measure themselves in a great landscape between glaciers, mountains and sea. Together with the IRON GIRL Run, the Ö3 Disco and the IRONKIDS competition, we once again celebrated a fantastic sporting highlight of the season this weekend ", summarizes Tourism Director Mag. Renate Ecker. Ecker adds: "The unique atmosphere that prevails at this time in Pinzgau underlines the importance of this event. We expect a value added of about 4,5 million euros. Special thanks go to 2.000 volunteers, without whom such an event would not be possible. Together with the neighboring communities, we were also able to unanimously agree on an extension of the IRONMAN 70.3 in Zell am See-Kaprun. We are especially proud that the triathlon will be our sporting highlight for the next five years. "

Copyright © Jan Hetfleisch / Getty Images

NEW IN YEAR 2019: IRONMAN TOUR SERIES

IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun is an official race of the brand new IRONMAN Tour Series 2019.

REGISTRATION

The IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun is an event for the whole family. The ladies kick off the competition week with the IRONGIRL Run. On Saturday, the big stage belongs to the junior athletes. Children from all over the world take part in the IRONKIDS competition and radiate around the world with their proud parents. Sunday will then be marked by the IRONMAN world elite and Age Grouper, who will reach their limits in one of Europe's most beautiful triathlon events and be celebrated by thousands of spectators.

The IRONMAN 70.3 triathlon event starts with a jump into the crystal clear drinking water of Lake Zell. Zell am See-Kaprun, a region made for 1,9 km swimming, 90 km cycling and 21,1 km running. You swim across the lake, in your racing bike saddle on one of the most beautiful bike routes in the IRONMAN world and with running shoes along the shores of Lake Zell.

BY THE IRONMAN WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP 2015
... the Zell am See-Kaprun region achieved world fame in the international triathlon scene - and rightly so. The alpine character of the landscape between the glacier, mountains and lake is perfect for top-class endurance sports. Not too cold and not too warm, the Zeller See provides the optimal water temperature for top performance of the participants in the IRONMAN swimming competition. The bike route leads over 90 extremely attractive kilometers through the middle of the surrounding mountains, before the 21,1 km running route throws wonderful views over the lake and the Hohe Tauern in front of the running feet of the iron men and women. How much the athletes can really enjoy from this view, considering the total distance to be completed, remains an open question ...

Details about the Ironman 70.3

Those who want to participate in the Ironman 70.3 can look forward to an extraordinary challenge, because the participants are waiting for the following distances:

  • 1,9 km swimming
  • 90 km racing cycling
  • 21,1 km running

The 113 kilometer long track equals 70.3 miles, from which the name of the event derives. The fastest finishers land less than four hours in the finish - with thunderous applause.

The routes on the Ironman 70.3 are with an unusual one Sightseeing Tour to compare would not be the extreme requirements. The start is made by two 935 meter round-trip sections through the clear Lake Zell in front of "our front door", followed by a change to the bike in the Alois Latini stadium behind the beach. 
The bike course leads over the asphalt roads of the SalzburgerLand, with over 1.000 elevation gain in additional challenge. 
After another change, the participants go into a running track, which from Strandbad Seespitz on the Turning point Thumersbach leads back to the Zeller Altstadt. The official date for the Ironman is usually the last weekend of august.

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we may use cookies.
Further information Ok

Ironman 70.3  2019

Der IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun ist eine Veranstaltung für die ganze Familie.

Ironman 70.3 in Zell am See Kaprun 1. September 2019

Megaevent zum Mitmachen & Zusehen

2.500 Athleten aus einem Drittel der Welt und ein österreichischer Sieg: Der achte IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun war wieder ein Spektakel.

ZELL AM SEE. Zell am See-Kaprun begrüßte am 1. September 2019 zur 8. Ausgabe des IRONMAN 70.3 und kürte diese sogar mit einem österreichischen Sieg. Das sportliche Highlightevent des Jahres wurde in der Region nun auch für die nächsten fünf Jahre fixiert. Der Zeller See brodelte, die Radstrecke präsentierte die umliegende Bergwelt bei strahlendem Sonnenschein und auf der Laufstrecke durch die Zeller Altstadt herrschte großartige Stimmung. Zell am See-Kaprun mit seinem Gletscher, Bergen und See gehört seit Austragung der IRONMAN 70.3 Weltmeisterschaft 2015 zu einer der beliebtesten Triathlondestinationen der Welt und war am 1. September 2019 zum achten Mal Austragungsort des Sportevents der Extraklasse.

Steger überraschte

Dabei gelang dem Österreicher Thomas Steger durch eine exzellente Leistung beim Laufen einer der größten Siege seiner Karriere. Er absolvierte den IRONMAN 70.3 in einer Zeit von 03:55:03. Bei den Damen konnte sich Daniela Bleymehl aus Deutschland den Sieg holen. Der Salzburger Andreas Giglmayer schaffte es bei seinem letzten IRONMAN 70.3 seiner Karriere unter die Top 10 auf Platz 9. Der IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun ist der sportliche Höhepunkt des Jahres und war heuer sogar am frühesten ausverkauft in der Geschichte des Rennens. 2.500 Athleten aus 62 Nationen der Welt gingen an den Start und maßen sich über 1,9 km Schwimmen, 90 km Radfahren und 21,1 km Laufen.

"Einzigartige Atmosphäre"

Tourismuschefin Renate Ecker zeigte sich begeistert: „Der IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun ist ein Triathlon-Wochenende der Superlative in unserer Region. Der Andrang der Sportler spiegelt ihre Begeisterung für diesen Event wieder, wenn 2.500 Athleten sich in einer tollen Landschaft zwischen Gletscher, Bergen und See messen. Gemeinsam mit dem IRON GIRL Run, der Ö3 Disco sowie dem IRONKIDS Bewerb haben wir auch dieses Wochenende wieder einen traumhaften sportlichen Saison-Höhepunkt gefeiert“, resümiert Tourismusdirektorin Mag. Renate Ecker. Ecker ergänzt: „Die einzigartige Atmosphäre, die zu dieser Zeit im Pinzgau herrscht, unterstreicht den hohen Stellenwert dieser Veranstaltung. Wir erwarten eine Wertschöpfung in der Höhe von etwa 4,5 Millionen Euro. Ein ganz besonderer Dank gilt den über 2.000 freiwilligen Helfern, ohne die eine solche Veranstaltung nicht möglich wäre. Gemeinsam mit den Nachbargemeinden konnten wir uns auch einstimmig auf eine Verlängerung des IRONMAN 70.3 in Zell am See-Kaprun einigen. Wir sind ganz besonders stolz, dass der Triathlon auch die nächsten fünf Jahre unser sportliches Jahreshighlight sein wird.“

Copyright © Jan Hetfleisch/Getty Images

NEU IM JAHR 2019: IRONMAN TOUR SERIES

IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun ist ein offizielles Rennen der brandneuen IRONMAN Tour Series 2019.

ANMELDUNG

Der IRONMAN 70.3 Zell am See-Kaprun ist eine Veranstaltung für die ganze Familie. Den Auftakt in der Wettkampfwoche machen die Ladies mit dem IRONGIRL Run. Am Samstag gehört die große Bühne den Nachwuchsathleten. Beim IRONKIDS Bewerb nehmen Kinder aus aller Welt teil und strahlen im Ziel mit den stolzen Eltern um die Welt. Der Sonntag steht dann im Zeichen der IRONMAN Weltelite und Age Grouper, die bei einem der schönsten Triathlonbewerbe Europas an ihre Grenzen gehen und sich von tausenden Zuschauern feiern lassen.

Mit dem Sprung in das glasklare Trinkwasser des Zeller Sees startet DER Triathlon Event der IRONMAN 70.3  im Salzburger Land. Zell am See-Kaprun, eine Region wie geschaffen für 1,9 km Schwimmen, 90 km Radfahren und 21,1 km Laufen. Es geht schwimmend über den See, im Rennradsattel auf einer der schönesten Radstrecken der IRONMAN Welt und mit Laufschuhen entlang des Ufers des Zeller Sees.

DURCH DIE IRONMAN WELMEISTERSCHAFT 2015
...erlangte die Region Zell am See-Kaprun Weltruhm in der internationalen Triathlon Szene - absolut zurecht. Der alpine Charakter der Landschaft zwischen Gletscher, Bergen und See eignet sich perfekt für hochkarätigen Ausdauersport. Nicht zu kalt und auch nicht zu warm liefert der Zeller See die optimale Wassertemparatur für Höchstleistungen der Teilnehmer des IRONMAN Schwimmbewerbs. Die Radstrecke führt über 90 äußerst attraktive Kilometer mitten durch die umliegende Bergwelt, bevor die 21,1 km Laufstrecke herrliche Ausblicke über den See und die Hohen Tauern vor die laufenden Füße der Ironmen und -women wirft. Wieviel die Athleten von dieser Aussicht wirklich genießen können, bleibt im Anbetracht der zu absolvierenden Gesamtstrecke dahingestellt ...

Details zum Ironman 70.3

Wer beim Ironman 70.3 teilnehmen will, blickt einer außergewöhnlichen Challenge entgegen, denn auf die Teilnehmer warten folgende Distanzen:

  • 1,9 km Schwimmen
  • 90 km Rennradfahren
  • 21,1 km Laufen

Die 113 Kilometer lange Gesamtstrecke entspricht 70.3 Meilen, woraus sich der Name des Events ableitet. Die schnellsten Finisher landen nach weniger als vier Stunden im Ziel – unter tosendem Applaus.

Die Routen beim Ironman 70.3 sind mit einer ungewöhnlichen Sightseeing-Tour zu vergleichen, wären da nicht die extremen Anforderungen. Den Start machen zwei 935 Meter Hin- und Retourabschnitte durch den klaren Zeller See vor „unserer Haustüre“, gefolgt vom Wechsel auf das Rad im Alois Latini Stadion hinter dem Strandbad. 
Die Radstrecke führt über die Asphaltstraßen des Salzburger Landes, mit über 1.000 Höhenmeter an zusätzlicher Herausforderung. 
Nach einem weiteren Wechsel gehen die Teilnehmer in eine Laufstrecke über, die vom Strandbad Seespitz über den Wendepunkt Thumersbach zurück in die Zeller Altstadt führt. Austragungstermin für den Ironman ist üblicherweise das letzte Augustwochenende.

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Weitere Informationen Ok